Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Blind Faith : Blind Folly
10 mai 2013

10 - 15 - 25 ?

The brief obituary would end simply with "Frank was 86".  Or perhaps, "Frank was 91 when he passed away".  Or, most unlikely, "Frank's full life ended at the remarkable age of 101".

I'm not even certain I have ten years left, let alone twenty-five.  But I will live them to the full.  Books, movies, lives all have an ending.  I'm in no hurry to end mine.  I just hope that I won't be a pain in the neck (anymore than usual) for my loved ones, and an embarrassment to myself.  However I have lived my life, I hope, as the coded cliché puts it, that I will die with dignity.  And that at least some people will appreciate the efforts of my twilight years to share my vision of the chance that is life and its natural conclusion which is death, both without the nonsense of the ravings, rituals and rules of religion.  (Redemptorist preachers used to try to scare us by telling us that today may be the last day of our lives.  Some readers of this blog may suspect from the above that this posting will be my last.  I wouldn't count on it if I were you.)

                                                                  DELENDA   RELIGIO

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
J
Is there a life, or a world beyond Frank? There seems little room for anything else in his universe.
T
NEWS FLASH - Frank, the cereal blogger, has been killed at the age of 76 by a terrorist bomb hidden in the remainders pile of his Magnum Opus ' From Here To Eternity". Hopes are fading that the culprits will be apprehended before they attack again. Investigators are piecing together the remainders of Frank's piles. The International Terrorist Organisation headed by the National Cash Register Company has denied any responsibility.
Blind Faith : Blind Folly
  • A collection of sometimes serious, sometimes entertaining, often wry reflections, teasers and ticklers, to help believers on the brink realize that their belief has blinded them to the vision and the truth that alone can make them free.
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Archives
Publicité