Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Blind Faith : Blind Folly
15 juin 2013

YOUR TURN

No, this is not another reminder that I would welcome any comments you may like to post on this blog concerning these Reflections (though if you do take the hint, so much the better).  This time I want simply to share with you, in view of my age (76 and risin'), my quietude concerning my death, "destined" to happen probably sooner than yours (some clichés, devoid of meaning, cleverly reinforce silly beliefs).  For some time I've been saying that I've had a good run.  Right now I feel on top of the world, though it wouldn't take much to put me six feet under.  For the foreseeable future, I don't expect any scientific break-through is going to lengthen significantly my life-expectancy.  Whether it's one or twenty-five years from now, I will soon be one of the faithless departed.  Then it will be your turn (at the time of writing, it seems to be Nelson Mandela's).  Make the most of the time you have left.  It is worse than a cliché, but the past is no more and for all of us pretty soon there will be no future.  That's the way it is.  "God" has absolutely nothing to do with it.  Just carpe the diem.  That's what I'll be doing for as long as I have.  I hope you will too.

                                                               DELENDA   RELIGIO

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
T
Tolerance and civility should remain the touchstones of our dealings with those with whom we disagree - whatever the subject matter - except wanton brutality and viciousness. Some believers examine their beliefs critically and decide to remain "faithful" to their inheritance, usually one from childhood. Some. like myself, decide that they can no longer "in good faith" maintain a pretence of faithfullness to their inherited childhood beliefs. And many, many, more I suspect, although I don't have statistics on this, never feel the need to question or examine their beliefs. Members of all the above three categories are entitled to their point of view. And in a secular society none of the above groups should receive favourable treatment under the law. Carpe Diem, certainly, but with respect for the rights of others
Blind Faith : Blind Folly
  • A collection of sometimes serious, sometimes entertaining, often wry reflections, teasers and ticklers, to help believers on the brink realize that their belief has blinded them to the vision and the truth that alone can make them free.
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Archives
Publicité