Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Blind Faith : Blind Folly
17 avril 2013

NOTHING NEW UNDER THE ... HEADINGS

In my book I explicitly stated the obvious - one of my specialities - by insisting that it, and as a natural consequence this blog, makes no claim to be original.  I have admitted that much, if not most, of it has been said before.  I do hope however that at least sometimes I put old wine into new bottles, and offer a different, personalized expression of why I am an atheist and why I consider religion ridiculous.

A recent Reflection is a good example of all this.  I confess that I have never read any of Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche's books.  But like so many others, I am aware of some of his ideas and even quotations.  The piece on alcohol, addiction and religion ("State of Denial") is a case in point.  (The allusion to Marx is too obvious, even for me, to deserve comment.)  I wrote it before I discovered what the great philosopher had written on the subject.  I have never opened his book The Anti-Christ, but I did discover on the Net the following quotation from it :  "Two great European narcotics, alcohol and Christianity".  That's it.  That's all I know (so far) about what he wrote on the subject.  His development of it is no doubt more pertinent and penetrating than my poor Reflection.  I'm no Nietzsche, but I don't think anyone will accuse me of plagiarizing his ideas.

I did discover on the same site another quotation from Herr Nietzsche, this one from his other famous work which I have not read either, Thus Spake Zarathustra.  It provides, post factum, a sort of justification for my sometimes criticized tongue-in-cheek, ticklers-and-teasers approach to ridiculing religion : "One does not kill by anger but by laughter."  I couldn't have said it better myself.

                                                               DELENDA   RELIGIO

 

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
F
Funny you should say that, Thom. Would like to have said it myself. Then again, though they were mates, Thomas More and Desiderius Erasmus often said things differently.
T
But laughing at people often makes them angry - so we must insist that we are not laughing at them but at what they think and believe.<br /> <br /> Believers maintain that God is perfect in all things. Hence He/She/It must be perfectly funny. Personally I find the whole idea of God perfectly funny - a non-material being that has personality, likes and dislikes, choices, favourites, changes of mind and all the human attributes we have endowed Him/Her/It with - even humour<br /> <br /> Giving God such attributes makes Him/Her/It accessible, likeable - even loveable; a rather more difficult feat to accomplish if we were to think of God as some pulsating amorphous mass of irridescent ectoplasm. Yuk! But just as funny. Almost perfect.
Blind Faith : Blind Folly
  • A collection of sometimes serious, sometimes entertaining, often wry reflections, teasers and ticklers, to help believers on the brink realize that their belief has blinded them to the vision and the truth that alone can make them free.
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Archives
Publicité